Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 71 Bronco Sport metal work - door help needed

All,
    I am new to the Bronco world, though I am a long time Ford fan. I picked up a 71.5 Bronco last year as a project. I hope to get it back on the road late next year. In getting the Marti report, I was pleased to see that it originally had 4.11 Locker's front & rear among other options, but those are long gone and a PO put in 3.50 opens (D44 up front; 9" small bearing 28 spline rear). It has a 3 spd which I plan to upgrade to a SBF ZF (picked it up off CL awhile back and I just put in a 2" body lift to help with the install).

I have a couple classic Mustangs and have done ground up restorations before; but I've never done as much metal work as I am doing on this Bronco. I knew it had some rust issues before purchase. I am in the process of replacing the passenger inner/outer rocker (inner already welded in, outer only attached with sheetmetal screws right now), both front door posts/kick panels, splicing patches in on both rear posts (passenger done already), both front floor pans (passenger done already), and inner fenders. Truck was originally in New Jersey and then in Georgia till 2001, so that explains the rust. It was a bit worse than expected as there was some rust covered up with fiberglass (which is easier to remove than bad patch jobs), but I knew about the door posts/kick panels/inner fenders & rocker before purchase.